Intergovernmental and interparliamentary organizations

Non-Arctic states

Thirteen Non-arctic States have been approved as Observers to the Arctic Council:

Intergovernmental and interparliamentary organizations

Intergovernmental and Inter-Parliamentary Organizations with an approved observer status.

Non-governmental organizations

Twelve Non-governmental Organizations are approved Observers in the Arctic Council.

Thirteen Intergovernmental and Inter-Parliamentary Organizations have an approved observer status:

International Maritime Organization (IMO)

Rovaniemi Ministerial meeting, 2019

Nordic Council of Ministers (NCM)

Barrow Ministerial meeting, 2000

Nordic Environment Finance Corporation (NEFCO)

Reykjavik Ministerial meeting, 2004

North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission (NAMMCO)

Barrow Ministerial meeting, 2000

OSPAR Commission

Fairbanks Ministerial, 2017

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

Inari Ministerial meeting 2002

United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

Iqaluit Ministerial meeting, 1998

World Meteorological Organization (WMO)

Fairbanks Ministerial meeting, 2017

West Nordic Council (WNC)

Fairbanks Ministerial meeting, 2017

At the Kiruna Ministerial Meeting in 2013, the Arctic Council “receive[d] the application of the EU for Observer status affirmatively”, but deferred a final decision. Until such time as Ministers of the Arctic States may reach a final decision, the EU may observe Council proceedings.